AADR awards the Irwin D. Mandel Distinguished Mentoring Award to Grayson Marshall


Alexandria, Va., USA – The American Association for Dental Research (AADR) has announced Grayson Marshall, DDS, PhD, MPH, as the 2018 recipient of the Irwin D. Mandel Distinguished Mentoring Award. He was recognized at the Opening Ceremonies of the 47th Annual Meeting of the AADR, held in conjunction with the 42nd Annual Meeting of the Canadian Association for Dental Research (CADR). The AADR/CADR Annual Meeting is in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, from March 21-24, 2018.

Marshall is currently Distinguished Professor Emeritus at the University of California, San Francisco. He served as President of the American Association for Dental Research in 2009-2010 and was the recipient of the 2007 IADR Wilmer Souder Distinguished Scientist Award and the 2017 IADR Innovation in Oral Care Award.

Marshall received a B.S. in Engineering at Virginia Tech, a DDS and PhD from Northwestern University, an MPH in epidemiology from the University of California, Berkeley and an honorary doctorate from Malmo University, Sweden. Marshall was a post-doctoral scholar in biological materials at Northwestern and a visiting fellow at University of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. He served on the Northwestern University faculty from 1973-87, before joining the University of California, San Francisco.

By embracing and demonstrating the need for an interdisciplinary approach, Marshall continues to stand as an exemplary scientist and mentor. Several of his trainees have pursued academic careers and now serve as mentors.

Through this award, Marshall is being honored for his extensive experience and devotion to the mentoring and training of the next generation of scientists. The award consists of a plaque and a monetary award of $1,000.

The AADR Irwin D. Mandel Distinguished Mentoring Award was established to provide national recognition for outstanding efforts to foster and promote research training and career development of students, trainees and junior faculty. It is intended to identify individuals at all levels of their career with an exemplary record of mentoring. This award was renamed in 2012 in honor of its first recipient, Irwin D. Mandel.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ribbon cutting for grand opening
UNC School of Dentistry Receives $27.7M Gift

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry...

Child with piggy bank
Tooth Fairy Tightens Purse Strings

The monetary prize for a lost primary tooth in households across...

Student feeling stress in classroom
Study Focuses on Causes of Stress Amongst Dental Students

A study published in the Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and...

USC Study Suggests E-cigarettes Not Harmless Water Vapor

E-cigarette users develop some of the same cancer-related molecular changes in...

Tokuyama Dental America Launches Corporate Social Responsibility Program

Tokuyama Dental America has launched Tokuyama Empowers, the company’s corporate social...

Quantum Dental Technologies Canary System
Canary System Inventors Nominated for 2019 Manning Innovation Award

Stephen Abrams, DDS, and Andreas Mandelis, PhD, have been nominated for the...

Ventures Plus Introduces ImplanTape

Ventures Plus has introduced a unique new way to protect the...

Sterisil® Brings New Look and Format to Citrisil™ Waterline Tablets

Sterisil Inc has relaunched its Citrisil Dental Waterline Microbial Control Tablet...